Track 10.Teacher Education for ICT integration in classroom


Schools and higher education institutions are gradually implementing the use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) in the classrooms. Consequently, the teaching -and learning- processes are still to be reinvented and teachers relentlessly face new ways of dealing with their profession.  The purpose of this track is to provide a forum to discuss the challenges posed by these technologies in the teaching profession and to offer practical answers for teachers to better make use of them (i.e., not only the technical mastery but also the application of pedagogical strategies to promote students’ learning).

It has been demonstrated that transferring existing programs or traditional lectures does not represent authentic ways of technology integration. The move from teacher-centered instruction to student based learning using interactive environments requires more complex solutions. It is therefore crucial for teachers (both pre-service and in-service) to be able to efficiently use these new tools. Teacher education programmes must then provide the means, models and frameworks to cope with the needs for the new forms of teaching and learning.


  • Pre-service and in-service professional development education
  • Teacher Mentoring and coaching
  • Online and blended teaching
  • Self-study to make sense of new ways of online teaching
  • Promotion of web based learning, e-learning, and learning objects in classroom
  • Teachers’ technological competences and skills in classroom.
  • Teachers’ practical knowledge (content, pedagogical and technological)
  • Teachers’ Collaborative Learning and Teachers’ beliefs.
  • New teaching methodologies (e.g., gamification).
  • Action research and reflection processes for ICT

Track Scientific Committee

Juanjo Mena (University of Salamanca, Spain) – Chair

Antony Clarke (University of British Columbia, Canada) – Chair

Balwant Singh (Partap College of Education, India) – Chair

Manpreet Kaur (Partap College of Education, India)

María Soledad Ramírez Montoya (Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey, México)

Roza Valeeva (Kazan Federal University, Russia)

Svetlana V. Karkina  (Kazan Federal University, Russia)

Ramona Cutri (Brigham Young University, USA)

Tom Russell (Queens University, Canada)

María Assunçao Flores (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)

Tasos Barkatsas (RMIT University, Australia)

Wendy Nielsen (University of Wollongong, Australia)

Pedro Membiela (Universidade de Vigo, Spain)

Mary Rice (University of New Mexico, USA)

Carlos Marcelo (Universidad de Sevilla, Spain)

Paul Henissen (Fontys University, The Netherlands)

Elvira Rincón Flores (Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey, México)

Leonardo Glasserman (Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey, México)

Stavroula Kaldi (University of Thessaly, Greece)